Managed by Volunteers of the Cranbrook Windmill Association, the windmill is open at regular times from the end of March to the end of September each year. Visit website
Interlinked with a series of footbridges and set in a beautiful, tranquil woodland, the breathtaking sandstone High Rocks provide the perfect setting for a scenic walk. To find out more visit website
St Dunstan’s has a rich and fascinating history dating back almost 1,000 years. Visit website
Visit Groombridge Place near Tunbridge Wells where everyone can have a special day. Visit website
Cranbrook Union Mill
Search by Town/Village
The Union Mill (aka Cranbrook Windmill) is an icon of the town and indeed the Weald of Kent. It was built in 1814 and stands at the highest point of the town at the top of a hill. Not only is it an attractive and interesting building to look at, but it is also maintained in full working order and flour can still be bought from the Windmill's shop.
This Grade 1 Listed Buillding is the tallest surviving "smock mill" in the British Isles. It was orignally built for Mary Dobell by the Cranbrook millwright, James Humphrey, for her son. However, when he went out of business in 1819 it was passed to and operated by a union of creditors, local farmers and businessmen, hence the name, 'Union Mill'.
It is managed by volunteers of the Cranbrook Windmill Association, and entry is free (donations appreciated).
© Visit the Weald – All Rights Reserved. Website designed by Clever Little Fishes